Photo by Imgorthand/iStock / Getty Images

Hi.

Welcome to my reviews.  Enjoy, take some time to discover a new book!  Happy reading!

Olga and Meh are back in a New Adventure

Olga and Meh are back in a New Adventure

Elise Gravel is one of my favourite children's authors.  Her books are filled with incredibly amazing, unusual, and silly characters.  I especially love how her stories have female main characters who are scientists, cranky, investigators, silly, gross, and all those other traits picture book authors tend to place on male characters.  Her books empower our girls to be who they want to be.  If they want to keep stage, smelly whatnots as pets, then all the more power to them.  In Olga: We're Out Of Here, published by Harper Childrens, Elise Gravel continues the story of Olga and her pet Olgamus named Meh.  

In this instalment, Olga is tired of living on Earth and has decided to head off into space to avoid all of the annoying humans on Earth.  Although there are some humans she likes, most she could do without.  She just loves to spend time with Meh.  When Meh starts acting strangely, Olga is determined to figure things out.  She researches and observes and even takes Meh to a vet.  To Olga's delight, Meh has a very exciting surprise in store.

This graphic novel is perfect for fans of Captain Underpants or Diary of a Wimpy Kid.  Written with a ton of graphics, word splashes, and text bubbles, it's the perfect choice for reluctant or emergent readers who are looking for a chapter book that is not at all intimidating.  We have been enjoying many of her wonderful picture books and are laughing out loud following Olga and Meh's adventures.   

You really should check out Elise Gravel's work online at http://elisegravel.com/en/.  Her work is so phenomenal and she creates some incredible posters, free to download for teachers and parents to empower the young people in their lives.  

The Trials of Bedtime

The Trials of Bedtime

The Imagination Can Take Us Anywhere

The Imagination Can Take Us Anywhere